Skip to content

Me, Me…

February 25, 2007

I realize I didn’t introduce myself. So who am I? I’m a dude with a video camera, a macbook pro, and dreams. I currently live in NYC and I’m a big Yankees fan (suck it, Boston fans). During the day, I’m a marketing strategist. On the side, I’m the marketing director of a cool start-up called Civil Engines. <Insert plug here → Check out our free peer-to-peer file transfer product at http://www.civilnetizen.com! You can also read about the day-to-day struggles of a growing start-up at http://www.bootstrapd.com.&gt;

And of course, I moonlight as a filmmaker. I’ve been making movies since the 7th grade when I debuted “Sodium Man” during chemistry class. Since then, I’ve shot all sorts of low budget run ‘n gun movies, including a couple of features and a music video. I studied film and economics at Columbia. I was also the chair for the Subway Writers, a screenwriting group in New York. A few years ago, I debated going to film school. I went ahead and applied, and was lucky enough to get accepted into USC’s graduate film program. But when it came down to it, I decided to avoid the debt and instead, continue to learn by doing. And what better place to learn than in NYC, where there’s a huge independent film community? I also recently finished up at the Kellogg School of Management (Northwestern) to get my MBA in marketing and strategy. Yeah, I kind of sold out but I think it’ll come in handy down the line, especially when thinking about the business issues surrounding the Internet video category.

I’ve increasingly become interested in the Internet as a distribution channel. Let’s face it. Production value matters on the big screen, and to get that production value, you need $$$. Lots and lots of $$$. That’s why I love the Internet. Video content doesn’t have to have the gloss of Hollywood movies. A good story will suffice. The type of stuff my friends and I used to make in high school can actually find an audience on the Internet, despite crappy equipment and retarded acting (thank you, long tail).

The Internet democratizes distribution, making it simple, fast, and easy enough that even my mom can upload family videos. No longer does a filmmaker have to rely on a select few in controlling his/her artistic fate. Any film can find its audience without having to rely on a middleman. It’s a wonderful world and it’s going to be really interesting to see how many stars will be born through the Internet. Also, I love the fact that film and video series on the Internet are going to push the boundaries of entertainment. The canvas is bigger than ever and the potential to create interactive storylines is endless.

Currently, I’m executive producing a new Internet series to be launched in May. I’m in pre-production right now, fleshing out the story, casting, and figuring out ways to market this bad boy. Anyway, that’s me, me… AYP. Talk to you soon.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 26, 2007 6:03 am

    You’re a Yankees fan and you’re from where again?

Leave a Reply

